Posted by: minhdotnet | July 8, 2009

Google Chrome OS and the Future of Windows

Google just recently announced their new OS.  After reading the news surrounding the announcement, I was thinking about what this means to Microsoft and Windows.  I must admit that I’m a huge Microsoft fanboy.  Essentially, I use Microsoft’s products everyday (Windows, Office, Visual Studio…).  However, I do use Google for search (90% of the time vs. Bing) and email (GMail).  Those are no doubt great products from Google.  Nevertheless, I’m very skeptical about this Google OS.  As most of us know, Google’s strategy is to create applications that run inside of a browser instead of having client applications running on an OS (e.g. Windows, Linux, Mac OS).  That is why they’re implementing this Google Chrome OS.  I’m fine with the idea of having some applications running inside of a browser but I’m not so sure about other applications.  For example, how does a DVD/CD recording application work inside of a browser?  What about DVD-playback programs?  I know I know in the future everything will be in cloud so we won’t need DVDs or any kind of physical objects to store data.  I wouldn’t bet on having everything in the cloud just yet.  For now, I’ll stick to having my CDs, DVDs, and hard drives.

It will be interesting to see how the Google Chrome OS turns out.  Until then, Microsoft shouldn’t have to worry much.  Windows is so entrenched in the personal computing market that it would take a very very long time for any product to take over.

Leave a Reply

Categories

